Channel

Create a Channel

  1. Open Main Menu > Settings. The Settings section appears.

  2. Click on Channels

  3. Click on Add

  4. Enter the name of the channel and add any translations in the Name field.

  5. Leave the other channel settings for now and save. 

  6. Add the user roles that should have access to the channel under roles.

  7. Add any Content Browser filters you would like to have for this channel by clicking Add in the Content browser filter section.

  8. Add a filter only to show Content Items that have the Layer "Product information" assigned and the media type "Technical Product Sheet" or "Product Shot."

    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 { "kind": "AndFilter", "filters": [ { "kind": "TermFilter", "field": "layerSchemaIds", "term": "Vertical" }, { "kind": "OrFilter", "filters": [ { "kind": "TermFilter", "field": "basicInformation.mediaType._refId", "term": "648b76b163654189be7b6638b31fb243" }, { "kind": "TermFilter", "field": "basicInformation.mediaType._refId", "term": "d019419aae9a4eaeb715d35efa0e61d7" } ] } ] }
Add a new channel

Problem: New channel not visible in channel dropdown - usually missing permissions (your user is in a user role which cannot see the channel)

  1. Open the Channel

  2. Edit Settings

  3. Check "View for All"

  4. Validate if you can see it - then adapt the User Roles.

Problem: New channel is empty - probably a wrong channel filter  

  1. Open the Channel

  2. Edit Channel Filter

  3. Remove your Query Filter

  4. Validate if you can see content in your channels Content Browser

  5. Adapt the Query Filter

Custom Channel Sort Fields

For custom sort fields follow the steps:

  1. Validate that the field on the layer is sortable.

    1. Open Layer, edit field, enable “sortable”. After changing this setting you need to re-render.

  2. Add field as “sort field” (down below).

    1. Open the sort fields panel in the channel settings.

  3. Add field as sort in the channel settings.

Open a Channel

You can open the channel from within the Content Browser or via URL if you know the ID. Bear in mind that you can lose access when permissions for the Channel change. 

1 https://customer.picturepark.com/contents/product

Problem: New channel not visible in channel dropdown - usually missing permissions (your user is in a user role which cannot see the channel)

  1. Open the Channel

  2. Edit Settings

  3. Check "View for All"

  4. Validate if you can see it - then adapt the User Roles.

Problem: New channel not accessible from bookmark > channel probably removed

  1. Open Settings

  2. Check if the channel is there or contact your Picturepark Admin. 

Update a Channel

  1. Open Sidebar > Settings. The Settings section appears.

  2. Click on Channels

  3. Double click on the channel you wish to edit (or choose settings). 

  4. Edit in UI or JSON.

Copy a Channel

  1. Open Sidebar > Settings. The Settings section appears.

  2. Click on Channels

  3. Double click on the channel you wish to edit (or choose settings). 

  4. Open the JSON

  5. Copy the whole JSON

  6. Go back to Channels

  7. Add a new channel

  8. Provide a name and save. 

  9. Edit the JSON

  10. Paste the copied JSON. 

    1. Keep the new channel ID 

  11. Save the JSON

Ids must be unique, so you have to keep the ID. Saving will fail when you use a channel ID that is already present in this Picturepark. 

Delete a Channel

  1. Open Sidebar > Settings. The Settings section appears.

  2. Click on Channels

    1. Double-click to open.

    2. Open the context menu. 

  3. Select "Delete" 

  4. Confirm deletion

There is no undo in Picturepark. Deleted Channels are gone. 

Bookmarks to the channel break and users lose access.

Channel Use Cases

  • Separating content by type, status, department owner, or usage

  • Restricting the content shown to specific users, such as partners or customers" This is the base where you will find all Content Items.

  • New user roles are automatically added to the Root Channel and removed if the user role is deleted.

  • Every item created/uploaded with be seen in the Root Channel (if view permission is given). There is no Query Filter on the Root Channel per default, although one can be set.

  • You can't delete the root channel as Picturepark depends on it for uploads and collections.